Receiving workers’ compensation benefits is essential to your daily life when you suffer an injury while performing work-related duties. However, it can be confusing, leaving you with many questions, such as wondering how long you can stay on workers’ compensation.
Pennsylvania has the Workers’ Compensation Act detailing what benefits an injured worker receives and how long. When you are injured while performing work-related duties, you can receive medical benefits and wage loss benefits.
A doctor will evaluate your injury or illness and categorize it through different classifications. This will determine how long you can collect workers’ compensation benefits. Keep in mind that after 104 weeks of being on benefits, your employer’s insurance company has the right to require you to have an independent medical examination (IME) to reevaluate your injury:
- Temporary total disability (TTD): This is the most common classification for workers’ compensation benefits. It is expected that the injury is not severe, and you should be able to return to your former work duties at one point. Benefits cover your lost wages for up to 90 days.
- Permanent Total Disability (PTD): The PTD classification is deemed to be those who may be disabled and are unable to return to work. This is likely determined through an IME; however, if the IME finds that you are less than 35 percent impaired, your classification may change to Permanent Partial Disability, which changes the number of benefits you are allowed.
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD): When classified under PPD, you can collect benefits for up to 500 weeks. If an IME determines you are more than 35 percent impaired, you can petition for PTD.
- Specific loss benefits: This is usually a one-time payment you would receive if you suffered a severe disfigurement or loss of limb due to a workplace injury. Specific loss benefits are calculated by multiplying a weekly wage benefit by several weeks, depending on the severity of your injury.
- Death benefits: Should you pass away from a workplace injury or illness, your surviving spouse and dependent children may be eligible to receive wage loss benefits weekly and a lump sum.
It is essential to know that receiving weekly wage loss benefits will usually equal two-thirds of your average weekly wage.
Furthermore, you will not receive wage loss benefits after your first week of injury. It is possible, however, to retroactively receive the first week if you are out of work for more than 14 days.
Our West Chester Workers’ Compensation Lawyers at Wusinich, Sweeney & Ryan, LLC Help Injured Workers Recover Benefits
Often, injured workers will need the help of a lawyer to secure the proper amount of benefits. Our West Chester workers’ compensation lawyers at Wusinich, Sweeney & Ryan, LLC are here for you. Call 610-594-1600 or fill out our online form for a free consultation. Located in Exton, Pennsylvania, we serve clients in Downingtown, West Chester, Exton, Coatesville, Phoenixville, Malvern, Lyndell, Wagontown, Uwchlan Township, Parkesburg, Chester Springs, Lancaster County, Reading, and Morgantown.